Change background image
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denied Inclusion of cultural phrases for added RP

Discussion in 'Archived Staff Complaints' started by Bobert_Roberts, Oct 16, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bobert_Roberts

Bobert_Roberts Assistant

Hi there.
    I'm Bobert_Roberts. I've been playing SS13 for about 18 months, Seethtide I know, and have surfed several different MRP and HRP servers.
    on oct.15 I had a disagreement with SierraKomodo over the use of the Cantonese phrase "Ai Ya" (哎呀) for a character of mine that is of Asian heritage.
    Simply put, "Ai Ya" (哎呀) is used as as "a exclamatory phrase expressing surprise, blame, dismay, shock, or fear."[1] used by Cantonese speakers in Hong Kong, Taiwan, and singapore. Ai Ya use is so ubiquitous that it has been included in main land Mandarin[2].
    I appreciate that this server is an ally for POC people. I've have to wade through a lot of murky waters as a poc and LGBTQ+ person IRL and avoiding that in game is very hard at times so I can see your aversion to anything close to stereotyping. I'd ask you to consider this as inclusionary instead of stereotyping. I've seen a lot of people here use different accents and vocal ticks to show this as an inclusive atmosphere of different cultures. I've spoken to my Taiwanese friends while learning Cantonese and wanted to include a more "real" aspect of that into the game instead of erasing it with a non-sensible version of Cantonese/mandarin version in-game that erasing the culture of Asian languages into a random word generator.